The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge by Vernor Vinge

Finished reading this book on November 5, 2006

Since his first published story, “Apartness,” appeared in 1965, Vernor Vinge has forged a unique and awe-inspiring career in science fiction as his work has grown and matured. He is now one of the most celebrated science fiction writers in the field , having won the field’s top award, the Hugo, for each of his last two novels.

Now, for the first time, this illustrious author gathers all his short fiction into a single volume. This collection is truly the definitive Vinge, capturing his visionary ideas at their very best. It also contains a never-before-published novella, one that represents precisely what this collection encapsulates–bold, unique, challenging science fictional ideas brought to vivid life with compelling storytelling.

Including such major pieces as “The Ungoverned” and “The Blabber,” this sumptuous volume will satisfy any reader who loves the sense of wonder, and the excitement of great SF.

The volume collects Vinge’s short fiction through 2001 (except “True Names”, including Vinge’s comments from the earlier two volumes.)

“Bookworm, Run!”
“The Accomplice”
“The Peddler’s Apprentice” (with Joan D. Vinge)
“The Ungoverned”
“Long Shot”
“Conquest by Default”
“The Whirligig of Time”
“Bomb Scare”
“The Science Fair”
“Just Peace” (with William Rupp)
“Original Sin”
“The Blabber”
“Win A Nobel Prize!” (originally published in Nature, Vol 407 No 6805 “Futures”)
“The Barbarian Princess” (this is also the first section of “Tatja Grimm’s World”)
“Fast Times at Fairmont High” (occurs in the same milieu as Rainbows End) (winner 2002 Hugo Award for Best Novella)


  • The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge
  • Author: Vernor Vinge
  • Finished reading: November 5, 2006
View on goodreads Buy on Amazon